The Surrey Hills Golf Club was established in 1892 in an area known as Harston's Paddock, between Trafalgar
St, High St, and Whitehorse Rd.
The site was just to the northn of Mont Albert Station.
At that time, Trafalgar St was known as Nelson St.
The original nine-hole course was rough, with cows and children often damaging the greens.
Players had to negotiate fences, cows, potholes, and the 12 ft-deep cutting in Whitehorse Rd, known as the
"Coffin Hole". This cutting is still visible, at 766 Whitehorse Rd.
In 1895 the Course expanded to 18 holes, extending
across to Whitehorse Rd, and east to Elgar Rd.
For a Clubhouse, the golfers rented a gatekeeper's shed on a quarter acre paddock adjoining the Mont
An official Clubhouse opened in Trafalgar St in 1900 and by 1901 the club had a strong membership, a professional
coach and a golf pennant team.
Sudivision in the area forced the relocation to Camberwell in 1907, where it was renamed the Riversdale
The Club is now situated in Mount Waverlry.
Only the orignial clubhouse, now a private residence, remains at 30 Trafalgar St.