In 1852 Patrick Trainer built a coaching inn,
the first change for Cobb and Coaches on the SE corner of Whitehorse and Elgar Rds. It was burnt down and rebuilt, and endured
until it was demolished in 1935.
its doorway was a carved white horse which now stands in the centre of Whitehorse Rd on the main shopping strip
1905, the land behind the Inn was known as Lloyd's Bullock Paddock. Mr Lloyd operated a store and butcher'; shop, opposite,
on the NW cnr of Whitehorse and Elgar Rds.