This Section looks
at important development along Elgar Rd, from Whitehorse Rd in the north, to Canterbury Rd in the south.
Inn - cnr Whitehorse and Elgar Rds
This started in 1859, and
the building was demolished in 1935.
The line to Lilydale opened in 1882, initially as a single grack, with a level crossing at Elgar Rd. The double track
was opened in 1888. The third track was commissioned in 1971 when the present bridge was built. Mont Albert station
opened in 1892. It was originally planned that Mont Albert station would be sited at Elgar Rd, on the north side of the line,
at the end of Zetland Rd, but it was eventually built in Hamilton St.
The existing wide grassy
treed strip between Elgar Rd and the present station, on the north side of the railway, next to Chuirchill St, is
the legacy of a decision made in the 1890s to make this area a permanent railway reserve.
In 1905, a Gate House was located
on Elgar Rd, west side, directly opposite Hopetoun Parade, on the south side of the railway line. This was next to the railway
Started in 1890, but operations were suspended
from 1892 to 1911 when it reopened. Between 1942 and 1946 it was further suspended due to the War. It finally closed 1988.
The land became Surrey Park.
Houses in 1905
These houses existed in 1905 - names of occupiers are shown (present
day nos given)
388 Adjacent to railway, north side (Turner)
366 (Beckett) - "Estherville" - c.1900 - still standing - now townhouses
378 ?? This
is now Federation St!
The land behind Beckett's and Griffith's houses was "grassed paddocks",
which would become the Brickworks claypit in later years.
393 "Yarrawah" (Wilson) still standing
379 (Keane) still standing