Enterprise Mill – La La - 1922 to 1931
a very large mill, on the slopes of Mt Victoria, above the Warburton township, commencing in 1922, as the Enterprise Sawmilling
Company. In 1925, ownership changed to Cuning, Smith and Company.The football ground was immediately below it.
transported to the mill along a tramway down from Cement Creek, and the sawn timber was then carried along the tramway to
the La La siding, over a small bridge crossing the Yarra.
was sited near the LaLa sidings Turntable, close to the present-day Bramich Bridge.
On its journey
north to Cement Creek, the tramway crossed the O’Shannassay Aqueduct on a concrete bridge, about 1 km west of Yuonga
Rd. This bridge is still intact, but has deteriorated and is littered with rubble,
and is next to the O’Shannassy Aqueduct Trail. The tramway alignment is partially visible where it enters the forest
across the bridge.
closed down in 1932.
No trace remains of the Mill or its workings - it was sited at the end of the present-day Brisbane