Hermon's La La Estate Mill
1909, a small mill was built by Mr Hermon, sited near the La La Falls. It
is believed that logs were transported to this mill from Hermon's Mt Bride Mill, futher to the south.
A log tramway
alongside the Four Mile Creek carried timber to the La La sidings.
The mill closed down in 1916.
A 3.5 km return walking track leads
up to the Falls, through the dense jungle of the Four Mile Creek Gully.
The track is reached from Park
Rd (opposite the Sanitarium Factory) along Old Warburton Rd to the start of the track on Irruka Rd (about 1 km from Warburton).
track follows the alignment of Hermons timber tramway, which became a popular walking track for visitors to
Warburton in the early 1900s, ending at the Falls.
As at 2012, no trace remains of the tramway, apart from old logs
adjacent to the alignment. The area was devastated by bushfires in 1939.
Another mill existed between 1909-1911 opposite
the start of the present day walking track.
A small weir was built across Four Mile Creek in the 1940s, and its remains
may be seen just off the track, about 200 m from the start. It is heavily overgrown, and a rusting barbed wire fence and iron
gate marks its perimeter.
The Track is very slippery after heavy rain, and care is needed. Parts
of it are rocky and steep, over steps and boardwalks, and it terminates at a viewing platform at the base of the Falls.