The Federal Sawmill and Seasoning Works, East Warburton, (the Sunnydale Mill), produced staves for barrels for
storage of glucose for use in the confectionery industry.
In 1918 to 1925, it traded as the Federal Cask Company, owned by MacPherson Robertson,
It was located on the north bank of the Yarra, alongside the Wood's Point Rd, connected by tramways
to Big Pats Creek and Warburton, and a large sign "Sunnydale" is on the fence of the present-day property.
In 1931, the owner of the property permitted the Presbyterian
Young Mens' Fellowship of Victoria to conduct camps for boys aged 11-14 on the land.