3AR was the first Melbourne suburban
Melbourne broadcaster, and was owned by the Sydney-based Associated Broadcasting Company.
January 26 1924
It commenced on mediumwave, using
480 metres (620 kHz). Its studios were in Elizabeth St, and transmitter at a’Beckett St, central Melbourne.
December 31 1924
Power increased to 1.6 kW
July 4 1925
The transmitter was relocated to a
new location at North Essendon (Broadmeadows), in Melbourne's north, with an antenna mast 100 metres high.
August 13 1928
A new studio was built next to that
of 3LO, off Russell St, central Melbourne.
July 1 1932
It became part of the newly formed
national Australian Broadcasting Commission
The N. Essendon facility was closed
down, and transmissions continued from the new PMG site shared with 3LO, at Sydenham. Power increased to 10 kW.
program production transferred to studios
located in the newly built Broadcasting House, in Lonsdale St.
Power increased to 50 kW
Frequency changed from 620 kHz to 621 kHz
Studios were relocated to the newly built
ABC Victoria Heaquarters at Southbank.