A larger building was constructed around the current building at Lyndhurst and
the old one was removed. At this stage, three new RCA transmitters were installed, each rated at 10 kW and the original VLR
unit was retired. These new units were American navy transmitters and they were modified for broadcast usage.
Independent Sideband (ISB) transmitter was used from Lyndhurst in the 1960s for carrying high speed telegraphy communications'
traffic to - the receiving terminal was at High Park
Eight STC transmitters were installed, and any program service could
be fed to any transmitter.
The original low powered VLR transmitter was on the air for a period of 29 years stretching
from 1928 to 1956 when the navy transmitters were installed. From that time onwards, it is probable that all 11 of the 10
kW transmitters at Lyndhurst carried the VLR service on a rotational basis, at least on some occasions.
June 12 1987
With the proliferation of television and the satellite delivery of radio programming
over Australia, the ABC shortwave service from VLR was declared redundant and it was closed at 1402 UTC on Friday June 12
1987, at the end of nearly 60 years of international on-air radio coverage.
The original specific QSL cards verifying
the reception of VLR were issued by the PMG department in two different designs. Later, the ABC also issued specific QSL cards
for VLR in two different designs. When the ABC introduced a standard design QSL card for all of its relay stations throughout
Australia, these cards were also issued to confirm the reception of the shortwave unit, VLR.
of the transmitters was relocated to Brandon, Queensland, for Radio Australia services, and another was resited to Llandilo,
NSW, for the VNG Time Signal service.
All transmission lines and antenna infrastructure
was dismantled at Lyndhurst, and the administration building and workshop were then used for Radiocommunications Maintenance
by Telecom Australia.
The site was sold, and the land was was developed for
high-density housing in the new suburb of Lynbrook.
No trace of the original facilities remain, but a legacy survives
in the name Towerhill Close, a small street on the site of the original station.