The Maroondah Aqueduct System - a Pictorial Heritage 1891 to 2013

1891 - The Graceburn Weir

1803 - Beginnings
1857 - Yan Yean Reservoir
1865 - Preston Reservoir
1891 - The Graceburn Weir
1891 - The Aqueduct
1891 - Maroondah Aqueduct - Kangaroo Ground District
1891 - Watts Weir
1891 - Maroondah Aqueduct - Echo Tunnel
1891 - Maroondah Aqueduct - Eltham to Research District
1893 - Donnelley's Weir
1927 - Maroondah Reservoir
1927 - Maroondah Reservoir Park
Maroondah Reservoir - Features
Websites of the Author

This is a Video compiled by the author of a visit to the Graceburn Weir and Aqueduct

1895 - Graceburn Weir

The Grace Burn weir and its aqueduct is significant as a surviving element of the first Watts River scheme, constructed in 1891. 

The Bubblehole is a popular feature of the Maroondah Reservoir park since its opening in 1927, where the water from Grace Burn Weir enters the reservoir from an exposed section of riveted iron pipe The name The Bubblehole has been coined to describe the resultant surge of water as it enters the reservoir.

The Grace Burn aqueduct fed water into the Maroondah aqueduct downstream of the original Watts River weir.

The Watts River weir was submerged beneath the waters of Maroondah Reservoir in 1927. Water from Grace Burn then fed directly into the enlarged Maroondah Reservoir.

The Grace Burn weir is constructed of masonry and concrete, and collects water from the valley between Mt Riddell and Mt Juliet. The aqueduct channel about 1.2 km long feeds into an 18 inch (460 mm) iron pipe, which runs for part of its length above ground on timber supports, and partly under ground.

Walkers are permitted to use the management track, 3 km return, which starts at the main gate at the Maroondah Highway and continues to the Weir.

The Creswell pumping station is adjacent to the Aqueduct.

The Government proposes to close public access to the Weir, to minimise contamination by visitors, and to set up a new walking track in the area.

The Aqueduct Track is designated as "Road 14". It joins gated "Road 6", at the Weir viewing point.

Road 6 is one of many "no public access" management roads in the catchment area, which leads around the base of rugged Mt Riddell.

In the early 1900s, a picnic area and facilities were located near the Weir - sections of this remained until 2007, but have now (2013) been removed. The early photos show visitors standing on the Weir infrastructure, but such access is no longer permitted.

Graceburn Weir - 1890s

1906 - Graceburn Aqueduct

2012 - Graceburn Aqueduct Track

2012 - Graceburn Aqueduct Track

2012 - Graceburn Weir

2012 - Graceburn Weir

2012 - Graceburn Aqueduct Track

1906 - Graceburn Weir

Add your content here