Outflow from the Maroondah Reservoir is via the outlet
tower, a promomnent feature at the spillway end of the site.
Pipes carry water from the base of the Tower through a tunnel bored under a hill, known as "Echo Tunnel" which
emerges at Sawpit Creek, next to public access Management Road 17 (Condon's Walking Track).
In 1893, Sawpit Creek Weir was built, and operated until it was decommissioned and partially dismantled in 1988.
The creek still flows, and runs in a small tunnel under the open channel and access track.
The remains of the weir
can be seen opposite the Echo Tunnel exit.
The first open channel section starts here, and
the access track is open to the public, extending about 1 km to a another pipe, adjacent to Donnelley's Creek Rd.
This pipe forms part of the Aqueduct.