Timeline of important dates
Graceburn Weir, Graceburn Aqueduct,
and Donnelly's Weir constructed
The earlier Watts or Maroondah Weir, formally opened on
18 February, 1891 by the Governor Lord Hopetoun, was submerged beneath the new Maroondah Reservoir. The structure can still
be seen when water levels are low.
works for the Maroondah dam began in 1915, and work on preparing the designs and clearing the site for the reservoir began
The Watts River diversion works were completed between 1918 and 1919, and construction began in 1920.
The design for the dam was completed and the clearing
of the reservoir site began. The first contract was let in August for diversion of the Maroondah River by an open concrete
channel constructed on one side of the valley.
dams were located at each end to divert the course of the river. The first contract for the construction of the dam was let
to E. Carroll for the lower portion only in October 1920, for the sum of 116,955 pounds. The work was completed in October
1922, and a second contract began for the dam outlet tower and subsidiary works totalling 502, 124 pounds
TRANSPORT OF MATERIALS
All sand and cement for the dam structure
was brought by rail from Melbourne to the terminal of the broad gauge railway at Healesville and conveyed to the dam site
via a bi-cable aerial ropeway erected in 1919-20 for 10,961 pounds.
A travelling aerial cableway was used for conveying
materials along the dam wall.
This system, with modifications, was also to be used during the construction of the Silvan
Dam between 1927 and 1931.
The dam was completed
and the Reservoir Park was developed.
Board undertook extensive planting and beautification work in the vicinity of the reservoir, and constructed two brick residences
for Caretakers' Quarters