1920 - Wireless broadcasting in Australia

Project Overview
1800s - Land Telegraphy
1874 - Guglielmo Marconi - a Tribute
1895 - Wireless Telegraphy
1901 - Wireless Telegraphy
1902 - Wireless Telegraphy in Australia
1904 - Australian Coastal Radio
1906 - Wireless Telephony
1912 - Melbourne Radio - VIM
1914 - Shortwave Wireless Telephony
1920s - Commercial Shortwave Telephony Development
1920s - Receivers
1920 - The huge RCA Longwave Station in New York
1920 - Wireless broadcasting in Australia
1920s - First shortwave stations in Victoria
1921 - Discovery of Shortwave Propagation
1921 - Koo Wee Rup (Victoria) Experimental Wireless Receiving Station
1923- Longwave Broadcasting in Australia
1923 - Evolution of Australian Domestic Radio
1924 - 3LO - Melbourne's Second Broadcaster
1924 - 3AR - Melbourne's first broadcaster
1924 - The Braybrook (Melbourne) Transmitting Site
1925 - First Shortwave Stations in Western Australia
1926 - First Shortwave Stations in New South Wales
1926 - RAAF Communications - Laverton (Vic)
1927 - Beam Wireless Worldwide
1927 - Beam Wireless from Australia
1928 - ABC Lyndhurst (Victoria)
1930 - AWA Receiving Station at La Perouse (Sydney)
1930 - AWA Radio Centre at Pennant Hills
1933 (to 1969) - Shortwave Radio Clubs in Australia
1936 - Ship Broadcaster - the MS Kanimbla
1939 - Belconnen Communications Station (Canberra)
1940 - RAAF Receiving Station at Werribee (Victoria)
1941 - RAAF Frognall (Melbourne)
1941 - ABC Brisbane
1942 - Army Wireless Chain - west of Melbourne
1942 - Dutch Stations in Australia
1943 - ABC Radio Australia - Shepparton (Victoria)
1943 - Army Shortwave HF Stations in Melbourne
1944 - ABC - Radio Australia - Looking Back
1945 - PMG Receiving Station - Highpark (Victoria)
1945 - Radio Australia - DXers Calling
1946 - Radio Australia - Communications Programs
1946 - VNG Time Signal Station
1948 - Radio Australia QSL Cards
1948 - ABC Sydney
1966 - ABC Cox Peninsula (Darwin)
1970 (to 2012) - Shortwave Radio Clubs in Australia
1975 - ABC Gnangara (Western Australia)
1975 - ABC Carnarvon (Western Australia)
1978 - Omega Navigation Station - Woodside (Victoria)
1985 - ABC Northern Territory
1989 - ABC Brandon (Queensland)
2003 - Private Shortwave Broadcasters
Timeline - Part One - 1839 to 1927
Timeline - Part Two - 1928 to 2012
SPECIAL - Licencing of Shortwave Broadcasters
SPECIAL - Radio Receivers for Shortwave
SPECIAL - Radio Monitoring as a Hobby
Bibliography, References and Resources
Links to the author's personal websites

Early AWA receiver - 1923

Early Developments
Advancements in wireless communication technology here in Australia kept pace with those being made in the rest of the world.

In August 1920, at the Royal Society’s House, Sydney, a demonstration was given for the first time of wireless telephony. Later in the same year, a two hour concert program was broadcast at the Queen’s Hall, Melbourne.

In 192l, AWA started weekly broadcast transmissions of gramophone records from their Melbourne offices each Monday night and reception was observed throughout the country. These broadcasts have been claimed to be the first regular programs in the world.

In 1921, Charles McClure, of Strathfield, NSW, was one of the first recipients of a transmitting licence, and broadcast musical programs in the Sydney area on a frequency of about 1400 kHz. It should be noted that it was not until 1920 that permits were made available for the reception of wireless telegraphy transmissions and only under very special circumstances would transmitting licences be issued. This of course, had been a bitter disappointment to the many experimenters who had been carrying out wireless tests prior to the outbreak of WW1. However, many Clubs and Associations were formed at around 1920 for receiving purposes, and it was not until July 1922 that experimenters were successful in gaining general Licence approval.

The announcement of a General Licence by the Prime Minister Mr Hughes was followed by wholesale activity by experimenters everywhere in the country, with both private individuals and commercial enterprises taking out licences.

In 1925, the "sealed set" System was introduced in August, following a conference of interested parties. Under this system, wireless receivers were sealed to respond to the wavelength of one station only, and the licensee paid a listening fee direct to the Station owner.

The first commercial licences were issued in November 1923 to broadcasters Sydney Limited (2SB) and another to Farmer and Company (2FC) on December 5, 1923. Their audiences were generally made up of enthusiasts and experimenters.

In 1924, other stations commenced operations in Australia on mediumwave, and the next five years or so would see a very rapid advancement in mediumwave broadcasters, leading to the establishment of many stations throughout the Commonwealth.

Enter supporting content here

Contact the author at this Email link