SPECIAL - Licencing of Shortwave Broadcasters

Project Overview
1800s - Land Telegraphy
1874 - Guglielmo Marconi - a Tribute
1895 - Wireless Telegraphy
1901 - Wireless Telegraphy
1902 - Wireless Telegraphy in Australia
1904 - Australian Coastal Radio
1906 - Wireless Telephony
1912 - Melbourne Radio - VIM
1914 - Shortwave Wireless Telephony
1920s - Commercial Shortwave Telephony Development
1920s - Receivers
1920 - The huge RCA Longwave Station in New York
1920 - Wireless broadcasting in Australia
1920s - First shortwave stations in Victoria
1921 - Discovery of Shortwave Propagation
1921 - Koo Wee Rup (Victoria) Experimental Wireless Receiving Station
1923- Longwave Broadcasting in Australia
1923 - Evolution of Australian Domestic Radio
1924 - 3LO - Melbourne's Second Broadcaster
1924 - 3AR - Melbourne's first broadcaster
1924 - The Braybrook (Melbourne) Transmitting Site
1925 - First Shortwave Stations in Western Australia
1926 - First Shortwave Stations in New South Wales
1926 - RAAF Communications - Laverton (Vic)
1927 - Beam Wireless Worldwide
1927 - Beam Wireless from Australia
1928 - ABC Lyndhurst (Victoria)
1930 - AWA Receiving Station at La Perouse (Sydney)
1930 - AWA Radio Centre at Pennant Hills
1933 (to 1969) - Shortwave Radio Clubs in Australia
1936 - Ship Broadcaster - the MS Kanimbla
1939 - Belconnen Communications Station (Canberra)
1940 - RAAF Receiving Station at Werribee (Victoria)
1941 - RAAF Frognall (Melbourne)
1941 - ABC Brisbane
1942 - Army Wireless Chain - west of Melbourne
1942 - Dutch Stations in Australia
1943 - ABC Radio Australia - Shepparton (Victoria)
1943 - Army Shortwave HF Stations in Melbourne
1944 - ABC - Radio Australia - Looking Back
1945 - PMG Receiving Station - Highpark (Victoria)
1945 - Radio Australia - DXers Calling
1946 - Radio Australia - Communications Programs
1946 - VNG Time Signal Station
1948 - Radio Australia QSL Cards
1948 - ABC Sydney
1966 - ABC Cox Peninsula (Darwin)
1970 (to 2012) - Shortwave Radio Clubs in Australia
1975 - ABC Gnangara (Western Australia)
1975 - ABC Carnarvon (Western Australia)
1978 - Omega Navigation Station - Woodside (Victoria)
1985 - ABC Northern Territory
1989 - ABC Brandon (Queensland)
2003 - Private Shortwave Broadcasters
Timeline - Part One - 1839 to 1927
Timeline - Part Two - 1928 to 2012
SPECIAL - Licencing of Shortwave Broadcasters
SPECIAL - Radio Receivers for Shortwave
SPECIAL - Radio Monitoring as a Hobby
Bibliography, References and Resources
Links to the author's personal websites

Licencing of all broadcasting operations in Australia is subject to very tight and rigorous controls by the Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA)

HF broadcasting describes the operation of broadcasting services designed to provide either a domestic service within Australia and its territories, or an overseas service, in the HF bands.

In December 2000, the Radcomm Act and the Broadcasting Services Act (BSA) were amended to enable non-national broadcasters to provide an HF broadcasting service. The legislative changes were specifically designed so that HF international broadcasters should undergo a vetting process involving both the ACMA and the Minister for Foreign Affairs. The successful outcome of this vetting process would be an international broadcasting licence (IBL) issued under the BSA.

The ACMA has developed three licensing options in the broadcasting licence type to accommodate HF broadcasting.

HF overseas (IBL) service station
This broadcasting licensing option accommodates the operation, in the frequency range 5.9 MHz to 26.1 MHz, of HF overseas (IBL) service station(s), operated by non-national broadcasters for the purpose of providing international broadcasting services. An international broadcasting licence (IBL) must be in force authorising the operation of the international broadcasting service.

HF overseas service station
This broadcasting licensing option accommodates the operation of HF overseas service station(s) in the frequency range 5.9 MHz to 26.1 MHz for the purpose of providing broadcasting services to overseas locations.

This licensing option is used only to authorise HF overseas service station(s) operated by national broadcasting services (that is, the ABC and the SBS) and other 'exempt broadcasting' services (as defined in the BSA). Holding an IBL is not a requirement of this licensing option.

HF domestic service station
This broadcasting licensing option accommodates the operation of HF domestic service station(s) in the frequency range 2.3 MHz to 26.1 MHz, within Australia and its territories.

An IBL may be required if the broadcasting service is targeted to a significant extent to audiences outside Australia. That would require the potential licensee to be also licensed under the appropriate overseas licensing option.

Spectrum use
International high frequency broadcasting uses the frequency range 5.9 MHz to 26.1 MHz). Frequency assignment within this frequency range is subject to the provision of Article S12 of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Radio Regulations. In addition, assignments in bands shared with non-broadcasting services must be coordinated by the ACMA.

Enter supporting content here

Contact the author at this Email link