1946 - VNG Time Signal Station

Project Overview
1800s - Land Telegraphy
1874 - Guglielmo Marconi - a Tribute
1895 - Wireless Telegraphy
1901 - Wireless Telegraphy
1902 - Wireless Telegraphy in Australia
1904 - Australian Coastal Radio
1906 - Wireless Telephony
1912 - Melbourne Radio - VIM
1914 - Shortwave Wireless Telephony
1920s - Commercial Shortwave Telephony Development
1920s - Receivers
1920 - The huge RCA Longwave Station in New York
1920 - Wireless broadcasting in Australia
1920s - First shortwave stations in Victoria
1921 - Discovery of Shortwave Propagation
1921 - Koo Wee Rup (Victoria) Experimental Wireless Receiving Station
1923- Longwave Broadcasting in Australia
1923 - Evolution of Australian Domestic Radio
1924 - 3LO - Melbourne's Second Broadcaster
1924 - 3AR - Melbourne's first broadcaster
1924 - The Braybrook (Melbourne) Transmitting Site
1925 - First Shortwave Stations in Western Australia
1926 - First Shortwave Stations in New South Wales
1926 - RAAF Communications - Laverton (Vic)
1927 - Beam Wireless Worldwide
1927 - Beam Wireless from Australia
1928 - ABC Lyndhurst (Victoria)
1930 - AWA Receiving Station at La Perouse (Sydney)
1930 - AWA Radio Centre at Pennant Hills
1933 (to 1969) - Shortwave Radio Clubs in Australia
1936 - Ship Broadcaster - the MS Kanimbla
1939 - Belconnen Communications Station (Canberra)
1940 - RAAF Receiving Station at Werribee (Victoria)
1941 - RAAF Frognall (Melbourne)
1941 - ABC Brisbane
1942 - Army Wireless Chain - west of Melbourne
1942 - Dutch Stations in Australia
1943 - ABC Radio Australia - Shepparton (Victoria)
1943 - Army Shortwave HF Stations in Melbourne
1944 - ABC - Radio Australia - Looking Back
1945 - PMG Receiving Station - Highpark (Victoria)
1945 - Radio Australia - DXers Calling
1946 - Radio Australia - Communications Programs
1946 - VNG Time Signal Station
1948 - Radio Australia QSL Cards
1948 - ABC Sydney
1966 - ABC Cox Peninsula (Darwin)
1970 (to 2012) - Shortwave Radio Clubs in Australia
1975 - ABC Gnangara (Western Australia)
1975 - ABC Carnarvon (Western Australia)
1978 - Omega Navigation Station - Woodside (Victoria)
1985 - ABC Northern Territory
1989 - ABC Brandon (Queensland)
2003 - Private Shortwave Broadcasters
Timeline - Part One - 1839 to 1927
Timeline - Part Two - 1928 to 2012
SPECIAL - Licencing of Shortwave Broadcasters
SPECIAL - Radio Receivers for Shortwave
SPECIAL - Radio Monitoring as a Hobby
Bibliography, References and Resources
Links to the author's personal websites

According to letters sent out from the Chronohertz station VNG in Llandilo, in New South Wales, this station was closed down on December 31 2002. It is planned that calibrations by GPS satellites will replace the signals broadcast by shortwave station VNG.


It is possible however, that the low powered 1 kW service on 2500 kHz for the Sydney area may still remain on air.


The history of VNG, with its familiar ticking sounds, goes way back more than 50 years.


March 1946
At that time, t
est broadcasts from a 2 kW transmitter at Lyndhurst in Victoria under the callsign VLX were noted. At the time, this transmitter was carrying a relay of the ABC programming in parallel with the other shortwave station VLR. Soon afterwards, this transmitter began to broadcast only time signals with a standard tone on a constant frequency.


The callsign was changed to VNG reminiscent of earlier time signals that were emitted by maritime radio stations as XNG. The NG stood for navigation and the X was an abbreviation for transmission.

September 21, 1964
An improved service was introduced on  using a 10 kW STC transmitter.


Subsequently, two more transmitters at 10 kW were installed at Lyndhurst for this chronohertz service.



In this year, the ABC closed its Lyndhurst radio station though the VNG service remained on air for a few months longer. 


In this year, four of the 10 kW STC transmitters were removed from Lyndhurst and transferred to Llandilo in New South Wales where they were re-installed at the International Transmitting Station operated by the Civil Aviation Authority.


A few years later, VNG bought two more transmitters; one was the 10 kW ABC unit VLQ near Brisbane in Queensland and the other was a 2.5 kW Harris transmitter at commercial station 2KA in the Blue Mountains out from Sydney. 


Over the years, various transmitter configurations have been used on various frequencies at VNG Llandilo.


Their QSL card shows four main frequencies; 5000, 8638, 12984 and 16000 kHz.


All four transmitters were STC units at 10 kW, with the old VLQ in operation as a standby unit. The transmitter for the Sydney coverage on 2500 kHz is listed as a 1 kW Harris transmitter.  The antennas for the four main transmitters are described as quadrant dipoles, and the antenna for the Sydney service was a vertical monopole.


Enter supporting content here

Contact the author at this Email link