Mt Donna Buang Pictorial Heritage - 1890 to 2011

Warburton History

About this Project
History of Mt Donna Buang
Warburton History
Heritage Timeline
Gold, Logging, and Timber Tramways
Ben Cairn
Acheron Way
Snow Sports
Family Snow Photos of 1925
Bushwalking Tracks
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail
Mt Donna Buang Rainforest Gallery and Skywalk
Mt Victoria Towers and HF Radio Reception
References and Bibliography

1908 Warburton township

The Donna Buang Range overlooks the town of Warburton, 72 km east from Melbourne's CBD. Its Local Governmwent Area is the Shire of Yarra Ranges. At the 2006 Census, Warburton had a population of 2288.

The name “Warburton” has been shared between two townships over the years. The mining town of “Yankee Jims Creek” was located on the gold-bearing slopes of Mount Little Joe, and was renamed “Warburton” after the mining warden of the district, Charles Warburton Carr. Gold depletion caused a declining population in the 1880s, so the town was renamed “Old Warburton” and the town of “Upper Warburton” on the banks on the Yarra River was renamed “Warburton”.

The Post Office opened around 1884 though two earlier offices named Warburton were renamed as Warburton area is a tourist destination, with picturesque mountain views of the surrounding hills. The Yarra river meanders through the township and is lined with walking tracks and beautiful picnic spots. The township is 20 minutes drive from Mt Donna Buang, which is snow covered in the winter. Restaurants and cafés, river walks, snow-play, and wineries make up the local attractions.

Warburton was connected to Lilydale by a Victorian Railways branch line which opened oin 1901 - it closed in 1965. The railway path is now used for the Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail, used by pedestrians, cyclists, and horse-riders

1901 Warburton Train Engine

Feedback, submissions, ideas? Email