The Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd was opened in 1921, linking Montrose Village with Upper Ferntree Gully.
It was built
mainly by returned servicemen from WWI in the years from 1918.
Its introduction was associated with the appearance of many guest-houses,
restaurants and small shops in towns through which it passed, making the mountain accessible by something known as the
"motor car" which had started to appear in Melbourne!
that. access was from Sheffield Rd to Five Ways (Kalorama), on the Coach Rd, which subsequently was renamed the Old