Mont Albert Railway Station is an integral part of the Mont Albert Village.
Although the railway line was extended through the area in 1882, from Camberwell
to Lilydale, it wasn't until 1890 that the first station was built at Mont Albert, midway between Surrey Hils and Box Hill
after a syndicate of local landowners raised the funds for its construction.
ran from from Flinders St, until electrification in 1919.
On frosty mornings, trains often slipped backwards
on the relatively steep incline up the hill from Surrey Hills station.
There was no guarantee that the trains would stop, as the Railways Commisioners had imposed a fee of five shilings on the
Syndicate for every train, which they refused to pay.It was some time before the situation was resolved.,
It is not commonly known, but the original site for the Mont Albert station was to
be at Elgar Rd, about 1 km further to the east, and the station was to be known as "Elgar Station". This original planned
station is shown on a map of the Warrington Estate subdvision of 1888.
A gatekeeper was required at the Mont Albert Rd level crossing, but was no longer needed when boom barriers
were installed in 1962,
By 1902, passenger traffic to Surrey Hills and Mont Albert stations had increased significantly,
and pressure was being extended on the Railways Commissioner to build an overhead footbridge or underpass at Mont Albert.
An underpass was ultimatel;y built.
The entrance building on the south side of the station was constructed in 1910-1911, and remains the
oldest surviving railway building in the City of Whitehorse.
Track amplification works resulted in the Box Hill
bound platform being rebuilt and converted to an island platform in the 1960s. Services on the third track from East Camberwell extended though the station to Box Hill in 1971.
The station was one of four used for the first trials of the myki ticketing system on the rail network, carried out in August 2008 by Kamco staff. The other stations were East Camberwell, Canterbury and
Line opened between Camberwell and Ringwood
1888 Line duplicated between Camberwell and
1890 Station opened, under the name "Mount Albert", later
changed to Mont Albert
1922 Line electfrified between Flibders St and Box Hill
1971 Third track added between East Camberwell and Box Hill