The first subdivision of this large Estate was
developed in 1883, "offering superb views". The lots ranged from one to ten acres.
The Estate was formerly known as Delaney's Paddock.
Dennis Delaney was the first settler in the district in 1839, and built the Delaney Hotel there in 1856.
In an adjoining paddock, horse races were held.
The Estate was bounded by Canterbury, Broughton, Riversdale, and Elgar Rds.
Canterbury Rd was known then as Delaney's Rd, one of three cattle and timber routes to the Melbourne