1911 - The O'Shannassy Weir
The small Weir was started in 1911 and completed in 1913 and was the orginating point
for outflow into the Aqueduct.
It was replaced in 1928 by the much larger O'Shannassy Reservoir, upstream.
Water from the Weir moved by gravity along the Aqueduct to the Surrey Hills Reservoir.
Many structures at the Weir precinct remain in-situ, which is at the end of the O'Shannassy
The Weir may also be reached from the unsealed O'Shannassy Rd, from the gate at Wood's Point
Rd, about 5 km. This road is within the Melbourne Water O'Shannassy management area, and public vehicle access is prohibited,
Pedestrian access is allowed but it's a long 10 km return hike!
The privately leased Rehabilitation Centre is also reached from the O'Shannassy