Centenary of the O'Shannassy Water Supply System - 1913 to 2013 - a Pictorial Heritage

1911 - The O'Shannassy Weir

1803 - Beginnings
1892 - Surrey Hills Reservoirs
1911 - Design and Construction
1911 - The O'Shannassy Weir
1914 - Maintenance and Operations
1923 - Bushfires, Landslips, and Floods
1924 - Modifications and Enlargements
1927 - Silvan Dam
1927 - Mt Evelyn Aqueduct
1928 - The O'Shannassy Reservoir
1929 - Upper Yarra Conduits
1931 - Silvan Inlet Aqueduct
1996 - Decommissioning
2006 - Pigging Project
2007 - O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Overview
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Parrot Rd to Don Rd
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Don Road to Dee Rd
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Dee Rd to Sussex St
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Sussex St to Yuonga Rd
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Yuonga Rd to Donna Buang Rd
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Donna Buang Rd to Cement Creek Rd
O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail - Cement Creek Rd to the Weir
The Present
The Author's Websites

1912 - Team and Wagon on the Wood's Point Rd to the O'Shannassy Weir construction works

1911 - The O'Shannassy Weir
The small Weir was started in 1911 and  completed in 1913 and was the orginating point for outflow into the Aqueduct.
It was replaced in 1928 by the much larger O'Shannassy Reservoir, upstream.
Water from the Weir moved by gravity along the Aqueduct to the Surrey Hills Reservoir.
Many structures at the Weir precinct remain in-situ, which is at the end of the O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail.
The Weir may also be reached from the unsealed O'Shannassy Rd, from the gate at Wood's Point Rd, about 5 km. This road is within the Melbourne Water O'Shannassy management area, and public vehicle access is prohibited, Pedestrian access is allowed but it's a long 10 km return hike!
The privately leased Rehabilitation Centre is also reached from the O'Shannassy Rd.

The Weir (2011)

The Weir (2011)

Weir in 1920s

1986 - caretaker residence

Control gates at Weir in 2011

Building the Weir (c.1912)

Looking from Weir (1920s)

Start of channel at Weir (2006)

Contact the Author