The Forests of Warburton - a Pictorial Heritage - 1853 to 2012

1885 to present day - Dee Valley Mills

1853 - Beginnings
1885 to present day - Dee Valley Mills
1889 to 1919 - Mills in the Wesburn and Old Warburton area
1890 - Roads to the Forests
1901 to 1964 - The Warburton Railway
1902 to 1906 - Anderson's Mill
1902 to 1939 - East Warburton and Onwards
1903 to 1907- Robinson's Mill No. 1
1905 to 1949 - Tramways of the Mills
1905 to 1928 - Parbury's Brookfield Mill
1906 - Wondwondah Estate and the Adventist Church
1907 to 1913 - Richards Mill
1907 to 1922 - Robinson's Mill No. 1
1908 to 1922 - Robinson's No 2 Mill (Cement Creek)
1909 to 1916 - Hermon's Mill (La La Estate)
1909 to 1949 - The Warburton Steam Railway
1911 to 1915 -The O'Shannassy Aqueduct and Weir
1915 to 1973 - Brimbonga Seasoning Works - East Warburton
1918 to 1925 - Sunnydale Mill, East Warburton
1919 to 1920 - Slocum and Walker's Mill
1920 - From the Bush to the Bungalow
1922 to 1932 - Enterprise Mill (La La)
1925 - Family Snow Trip to Mt Donna Buang
1932 to 1937 - Horner's Mill
1938 to 2000 - Tuckman's Mills
1950 - Welcome Back to Warburton
The Donna Buang Range
The Author's Personal Websites

1920s - timber being transported down the Dee Valley Tramway

Site of Millgrove Sawmill - 2012

Site of McKechnie Mill

1907 - Dee Valley - Mortimer's Mill

Several Mills worked in the Dee River Valley, and in the district which later became known as Millgrove. Two of these Mills are still operating
They included:

Kennedy and Munro (1885-1886) -  this was one of the earliest steam-powered mills to be erected in the district, on the east bank of the Dee River, about one mile above its confluence with the Yarra, below the Aqueduct.

Platt (1904-1924) - at the foot of Frenchman's Creek

Sutherland (1924) - near the foot of Frenchman's Creek

Henry, Slocum and Walker) (1907-1912) - below Ben Cairn

Mortimer Bros (1903-1910) -
below the Ben Cairn tourist road

Gilolis (1903-1909) -
on the Dee River, nearf Currie's Mill

Currie (1920-1927) -
on the Dee River (taken over by Feglin and Sons in 1928

Feiglin and Sons (1928-1934) - the former Currie Mill

Walker (1913-1915) - was located on Walker Creek, about 4 km north of Millgrove.

Meyers (
1930-1940) - this was sited just below the Aqueduct on Frenchman's Creek and a tramway carried timber to the Millgrove railhead.

McKechnie (1919-1968) - this mill operated for nearly 50 years, and was on the western side of the Dee River, above the Aqueduct. The site is now private property, reached from the end of Dee Rd and shown on various maps as "APM Access Track
".(It was indicated as being still on-site in 2000 - Mountains and Ash)

The Millgrove Walking Track passes through this property, and was originally known as the "back track" from Mt Donna Buang to Millgrove. It follows the Walker Creek Gully, and leads to the Ben Cairn Tourist Rd, near the junction with the Mt Donna Buang Rd. Current information about this track is sketchy, and it appears that it is heavily overgrown and disused. A GeoCache expedition was made there in 2009. The Walker'
s Mill tramway was nearby.

The continuation of Dee Rd is a private road into private property.
Sawn timber from these mills was transported down the Dee Valley on the Dee Valley Tramway, to the railhead at Millgrove. This Tramway was shared between the various mills.
Of interest is the large cleared area just above the O'Shannassy Aqueduct Trail at the Dee Rd entry point carpark. A timber tramway was on this land in the years 1885-1886, carrying logs to Kennedy and Munro's mill nearby.
The tramway ran from the Harrison Creek to the Dee River. The Creek still flows, and crosses underneath the Aqueduct and Trail just east of the Dee Rd carpark. Its headquarters is high up near the Mt Donna Buang Tourist Rd.
Dee Rd ends at the Aqueduct, where tracks lead to private properties.

Inverarity and Baird  (1945 to present day) - now the Millgrove Sawmill, on the Warburton Highway just opposite the site of the former Millgrove Railway Station.
Alpine Sawmilling Company -  small mill still operating, located east of Millgrove above the Warburton Highway. The date of origin is unknown.

1929 - Dee Valley - Fieglin's Mill and Tramway

August 2012 - Millgrove Sawmill (author's photo)

August 2012 - Millgrove Station (author's pic)

Aug 2012 - Dee Rd entry point to Aqueduct Trail - old tramway site - Kennedy-Munro mill (author pic)

Contact Bob Padula