The Warburton rail line was opened on November 13 1901.
The station site is now the
conclusion of the Lilydale – Warburton walking trail, which follows the line of the old railway.
The opening of the railway heralded a massive increase in sawmilling activity
in the region, coupled with a sigificant influx of new residents, commercial development, new schools, timberworkers, a shopping
strip, service organizations and the start of the Warburton Football Club.
On May 3 1909, the line was extended a short distance of 26 chains (about 500 m) to the "La La
Sidings", as the limited facilities at the railhead had exceeded the requirements of the sawmills.
the opening of the railway, the town became a popular destination for day and overnight visitors, as many tea-rooms and restaurants
line closed in 1965.
The remains of the Turntable lie rusting in Crown Land, adjacent to the Edgewater Resort.