The Mont Albert District - a Pictorial History 1830 to 2013

1889 - Gas Supply and Gasworks

Indigenous Heritage
Geology and Topography
Vegetation and Fauna
Climate and Hydrology
1840s to 1870s
1850s - Parish of Nunawading
1852 - Whitehorse Inn
1861 - Postal Services
1880s - Electricity Supply
1880s to 1920s
1882 - Phantom Railways to Doncaster
1883 - Residential Heritage Precinct
1884 - Broughton Park subdivsion
1884 - Brickworks
1885 - Surrey Hills district - map
1888 - Football Clubs
1889 - Gas Supply and Gasworks
1889 - Doncaster Electric Tramway and Tower
1890 - Mont Albert Railway Station
1892 - Surrey Hills Golf Club
1892 - Water Supply, Reservoirs and Sewerage
1899 - Telephone Services
1905 - The Surrey Dive
1907 - Scouts and Guides
1912 - Mont Albert Village Shopping Precinct
1914 - Mont Albert Progress Association
1916 - Californian Bungalows
1917 - Schools
1917 - Wattle Park
1924 - Early Shortwave Broadcasting from the Surrey Hills district
1924 - Black's Estate
1925 - Bus Services
1929 - Tramways
1930 - Cricket Clubs in Mont Albert
1930s - Balwyn - Beckett Park Bonfires and Wildlife Sanctuary
1948 - Grange Tennis Courts
1957 - Pioneer Park
1961 - Surrey Hills Communications Tower
1981 - Box Hill Miniature Railway
Koonung Creek Parklands
Heritage Notes
Mont Albert Road - Early History
Mont Albert Rd - the East End
Elgar Rd - north and south of Mont Albert Rd
Mont Albert Rd - View St to Elgar Rd
Bushland Reserves
Service Associations
Sporting Clubs
Box Hill Institute of TAFE
Walking Trails
The Author's Websites
References and Acknowledgements

1970 - gasworks

1970 - aerial views of gasworks

Add your content here
In 1889, the Boix Hill Gas Company bought the land on the NW corner of Whitehorse and Elgar Rds.
The works would burn coal to produce gas, and digging of the streets started where the gas pips would be laid.
Gas was used in the streets for lighting, and later to residences of Surrey Hills, Mont Albert, and Box Hill in January 1890.  Bath-heaters, coppers and stoves coiuld be operated instantly without relying on supplies of dry firewood.
Initially, only small areas of these suburbsl were supplied.
The gasworks operated until 1974, with the arrival of natural gas, and the works were later demolished to make way for the new Box Hill College of TAFE.
Older residents will recall the noise and fumes!

Click on any image to display a full size view!