The Mont Albert District - a Pictorial History 1830 to 2013

1861 - Postal Services

Indigenous Heritage
Geology and Topography
Vegetation and Fauna
Climate and Hydrology
1840s to 1870s
1850s - Parish of Nunawading
1852 - Whitehorse Inn
1861 - Postal Services
1880s - Electricity Supply
1880s to 1920s
1882 - Phantom Railways to Doncaster
1883 - Residential Heritage Precinct
1884 - Broughton Park subdivsion
1884 - Brickworks
1885 - Surrey Hills district - map
1888 - Football Clubs
1889 - Gas Supply and Gasworks
1889 - Doncaster Electric Tramway and Tower
1890 - Mont Albert Railway Station
1892 - Surrey Hills Golf Club
1892 - Water Supply, Reservoirs and Sewerage
1899 - Telephone Services
1905 - The Surrey Dive
1907 - Scouts and Guides
1912 - Mont Albert Village Shopping Precinct
1914 - Mont Albert Progress Association
1916 - Californian Bungalows
1917 - Schools
1917 - Wattle Park
1924 - Early Shortwave Broadcasting from the Surrey Hills district
1924 - Black's Estate
1925 - Bus Services
1929 - Tramways
1930 - Cricket Clubs in Mont Albert
1930s - Balwyn - Beckett Park Bonfires and Wildlife Sanctuary
1948 - Grange Tennis Courts
1957 - Pioneer Park
1961 - Surrey Hills Communications Tower
1981 - Box Hill Miniature Railway
Koonung Creek Parklands
Heritage Notes
Mont Albert Road - Early History
Mont Albert Rd - the East End
Elgar Rd - north and south of Mont Albert Rd
Mont Albert Rd - View St to Elgar Rd
Bushland Reserves
Service Associations
Sporting Clubs
Box Hill Institute of TAFE
Walking Trails
The Author's Websites
References and Acknowledgements

1917 - Box Hill Post Office

Early Days
From early times, street letter deliveries were twice a day and on Saturday mornings. A letter posted in the morning would generally arrive in the afternoon! 
With the establishment of the network of Mail Exchanges across Melbourne in the 1960s,  maiil deliveries to suburban street addresses were reduced to once a dayl and Satuday deliveries were abandoned.
Mail was delivered by Postmen, riding red-painted bikes, who would blow their whistles at the front gate if a letter had arrived!
Mont Albert Post Office opened in 1914, located in Hamilton St.
It moved to its present site at 1A Hamilton St in the 1970s.
A Post Office opened in Mont Albert North in 1957, and closed in 1993.
In 1928, Melbourne was divided into several Postal Districts, known as Central, South Central, North, South, East, and West-South East.
The Surrey Hills/Box Hill/Mont Albert areas were in the East District, and designated:
E10 Mont Albert, Surrey Hills, Surrey Hills North, Surrey Hills South,
E11 Box Hill
E12 Mont Albert North, Box Hill North
In 1967, The Post Office introduced national Postcodes, and those serving this area are:
3127 Surrey Hills, Mont Albert (shared with Boroondara)
3128 Box Hill
3129 Mont Albert North
In 1861, the first Post Office opened in Biox Hill, from Silas Padgham's Store on the cnr of Whitehorse Rd and Station St. 
In 1911, the old Post Office was replaced by a new red brick building on the same location, which also housed the State Bank. 
The main Post Office and sorting office in Box Hill was on the cnr of Station St and Whitehores Rds.

The Post Ofice left this building in 1983 and relocated its customer-facng services to a new site in the newly built Whitehorse Plaza shopping cente in Carrington Rd, The commercial Mail Centre was relocated in a new building in Nelson rd, just arouhd the corner from Whitehorse Rd. Many customers with PO Boxes in the old building were inconvienced, when the Boxes were moved to the new commercial centre in Nelson Rd,
Mail for Mont Albert came from the Box Hill Centre, as at present..
The Surrey Hills Post Office was on the cnr of Union and Canterbury Rds - in the 1990s a new PO started in Union Rd in the main shopping strip. The old PO building has been demolished. 
The numbers of street letter boxes have been steadily declining since the 1970s. It is interesting to note that a letter box near the author's home, on the cnr of Mont Albert Rd and View St has survived for several decades, and was there as far back as 1959!
Add your content here

Click on any image to display a full size view!