The Mont Albert District - a Pictorial History 1830 to 2013

Box Hill Institute of TAFE

Indigenous Heritage
Geology and Topography
Vegetation and Fauna
Climate and Hydrology
1840s to 1870s
1850s - Parish of Nunawading
1852 - Whitehorse Inn
1861 - Postal Services
1880s - Electricity Supply
1880s to 1920s
1882 - Phantom Railways to Doncaster
1883 - Residential Heritage Precinct
1884 - Broughton Park subdivsion
1884 - Brickworks
1885 - Surrey Hills district - map
1888 - Football Clubs
1889 - Gas Supply and Gasworks
1889 - Doncaster Electric Tramway and Tower
1890 - Mont Albert Railway Station
1892 - Surrey Hills Golf Club
1892 - Water Supply, Reservoirs and Sewerage
1899 - Telephone Services
1905 - The Surrey Dive
1907 - Scouts and Guides
1912 - Mont Albert Village Shopping Precinct
1914 - Mont Albert Progress Association
1916 - Californian Bungalows
1917 - Schools
1917 - Wattle Park
1924 - Early Shortwave Broadcasting from the Surrey Hills district
1924 - Black's Estate
1925 - Bus Services
1929 - Tramways
1930 - Cricket Clubs in Mont Albert
1930s - Balwyn - Beckett Park Bonfires and Wildlife Sanctuary
1948 - Grange Tennis Courts
1957 - Pioneer Park
1961 - Surrey Hills Communications Tower
1981 - Box Hill Miniature Railway
Koonung Creek Parklands
Heritage Notes
Mont Albert Road - Early History
Mont Albert Rd - the East End
Elgar Rd - north and south of Mont Albert Rd
Mont Albert Rd - View St to Elgar Rd
Bushland Reserves
Service Associations
Sporting Clubs
Box Hill Institute of TAFE
Walking Trails
The Author's Websites
References and Acknowledgements

2013 - Elgar Campus of Box Hill Institute

Background and Timeline

Box Hill Institute is a secondary and tertiary education institute based in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne, with additional campuses overseas. It has three campuses in Box Hill (Elgar, Whitehorse and Nelson), one in Nunawading (Ceylon Campus) and an accredited extended campus used for training in Abu Halifa, Kuwait.

The Elgar campus occupies the site of the former Box Hill Gasworks, in Elgar Rd. 

Box Hill Technical School for Girls and Women opened on 31 March with 65 junior students and Miss Ruth Evans as Principal. Mr E.W. Greenwood MLA was the first President of School Council. The school was housed in the original Box Hill State School No. 2838 and was opened officially on 4 September. On 28 April 1924, 151 students commenced.

The first of many new buildings for the Box Hill Girl’s Technical School was opened by the Minister for Public Instruction, Dr. John Harris on 7th October. There were now 328 students

Box Hill Boys’ Technical School admitted 470 students on 2 February. The school, with 17 staff, was opened officially on 25 May 1943.

A fifth form class in commercial subjects began at the Box Hill Girls’ Technical School. A Leaving Technical Certificate was introduced in 1964.

Post-secondary classes commenced at both technical schools. The first of these was the Certificate in Business at Box Hill Girls’ Technical College. This was quickly followed by Certificate courses in Engineering and Electronics at Box Hill Boys’ Technical School.

On 30 March Box Hill Girls’ Technical School become Whitehorse Technical College. On 17 September the new building was officially opened by the Hon. L.H.S. Thompson MP, Minister for Education.

It was recommended that the Box Hill Gas Works site in Elgar Road be purchased and developed as a multi-storey campus exclusively for TAFE courses at Box Hill Technical School.

Technical and Further Education (TAFE) was established as a tertiary entity, separate from secondary technical education. On 1October, seven colleges including Box Hill Technical College were declared Colleges of TAFE reporting to the TAFE Board. On 1 December, Whitehorse College of TAFE was established.

Box Hill Girls’ Technical School and Box Hill Boys’ Technical School amalgamated to become Box Hill Technical School. By an Order in Council, on 25 January 1984, Box Hill College of TAFE and the Whitehorse College of TAFE amalgamated to form Box Hill College of TAFE.

Doncaster Campus opened. This new campus allowed the college to provide more courses to meet demand. Since the late 1980s, most of the college’s local students came from the north-eastern corridor, taking in Doncaster, Templestowe and Eltham. By 1994, nearly 2000 students were undertaking courses at Doncaster, including Library & Information Studies and Health & Community Studies.

The college bought a site in Nelson Road, formerly the Holeproof factory, and work began to establish another local campus of Box Hill College of TAFE. The Box Hill College of TAFE has an enrolment of 26,000 students on five main campuses. The college also offers on-site courses to industry, both nationally and internationally.

On 1 October 1995 the college’s name was changed to Box Hill Institute of TAFE.

Visit Box Hill Institute for further information

Click on any image to display a full size view!