The Mont Albert District - a Pictorial History 1830 to 2013

1880s - Electricity Supply

Indigenous Heritage
Geology and Topography
Vegetation and Fauna
Climate and Hydrology
1840s to 1870s
1850s - Parish of Nunawading
1852 - Whitehorse Inn
1861 - Postal Services
1880s - Electricity Supply
1880s to 1920s
1882 - Phantom Railways to Doncaster
1883 - Residential Heritage Precinct
1884 - Broughton Park subdivsion
1884 - Brickworks
1885 - Surrey Hills district - map
1888 - Football Clubs
1889 - Gas Supply and Gasworks
1889 - Doncaster Electric Tramway and Tower
1890 - Mont Albert Railway Station
1892 - Surrey Hills Golf Club
1892 - Water Supply, Reservoirs and Sewerage
1899 - Telephone Services
1905 - The Surrey Dive
1907 - Scouts and Guides
1912 - Mont Albert Village Shopping Precinct
1914 - Mont Albert Progress Association
1916 - Californian Bungalows
1917 - Schools
1917 - Wattle Park
1924 - Early Shortwave Broadcasting from the Surrey Hills district
1924 - Black's Estate
1925 - Bus Services
1929 - Tramways
1930 - Cricket Clubs in Mont Albert
1930s - Balwyn - Beckett Park Bonfires and Wildlife Sanctuary
1948 - Grange Tennis Courts
1957 - Pioneer Park
1961 - Surrey Hills Communications Tower
1981 - Box Hill Miniature Railway
Koonung Creek Parklands
Heritage Notes
Mont Albert Road - Early History
Mont Albert Rd - the East End
Elgar Rd - north and south of Mont Albert Rd
Mont Albert Rd - View St to Elgar Rd
Bushland Reserves
Service Associations
Sporting Clubs
Box Hill Institute of TAFE
Walking Trails
The Author's Websites
References and Acknowledgements

Electric lighting appeared in the Box Hill/Surrey Hills/Mont Albert districts in the late 1880s.
The first street lights in Box Hill appeared in 1889.
In that year, the Box Hill to Doncaster electric tramway commenced, operated by the newly formed Box Hill and DocasterTramway Company.
In Surrey Hills in the 1890s street lighting was by kerosene and gas lamps, and a lamplighter rode along on horseback, standing up in the saddle to light the lamps
In 1904, electric street lighting was introduced to Surrey Hills, with the majority of the lamps being installed along Canterbury Rd, some fitted with automatic lighting and extinguishing.
Street lighting and connections to private houses was progressively extended in the years up to the late 1920s.

In the 1890s, commercial electricity was delivered by local Councils and was 110 V  DC ( the American system). This was eventually changed to three-phase 240 V AC

Click on any image to display a full size view!