The Mont Albert District - a Pictorial History 1830 to 2013

1888 - Football Clubs

Indigenous Heritage
Geology and Topography
Vegetation and Fauna
Climate and Hydrology
1840s to 1870s
1850s - Parish of Nunawading
1852 - Whitehorse Inn
1861 - Postal Services
1880s - Electricity Supply
1880s to 1920s
1882 - Phantom Railways to Doncaster
1883 - Residential Heritage Precinct
1884 - Broughton Park subdivsion
1884 - Brickworks
1885 - Surrey Hills district - map
1888 - Football Clubs
1889 - Gas Supply and Gasworks
1889 - Doncaster Electric Tramway and Tower
1890 - Mont Albert Railway Station
1892 - Surrey Hills Golf Club
1892 - Water Supply, Reservoirs and Sewerage
1899 - Telephone Services
1905 - The Surrey Dive
1907 - Scouts and Guides
1912 - Mont Albert Village Shopping Precinct
1914 - Mont Albert Progress Association
1916 - Californian Bungalows
1917 - Schools
1917 - Wattle Park
1924 - Early Shortwave Broadcasting from the Surrey Hills district
1924 - Black's Estate
1925 - Bus Services
1929 - Tramways
1930 - Cricket Clubs in Mont Albert
1930s - Balwyn - Beckett Park Bonfires and Wildlife Sanctuary
1948 - Grange Tennis Courts
1957 - Pioneer Park
1961 - Surrey Hills Communications Tower
1981 - Box Hill Miniature Railway
Koonung Creek Parklands
Heritage Notes
Mont Albert Road - Early History
Mont Albert Rd - the East End
Elgar Rd - north and south of Mont Albert Rd
Mont Albert Rd - View St to Elgar Rd
Bushland Reserves
Service Associations
Sporting Clubs
Box Hill Institute of TAFE
Walking Trails
The Author's Websites
References and Acknowledgements

2013 - Surrey Park Panthers (black/white stripes)


Within the study area, there are no senior football Clubs (Australian Rules or Soccer).

Australian Rules

An Argus  report of 6 June 1917 said that a junior competition was active,  and a match between Mont Albert and Balwyn took place at the Balwyn gound. In 1918, the Argus reported that unruly youths were kicking footballs in Mont Albert Rd causing damage to power  lines.

Matches between school teams had been played at the Mont Albert ground since the early 1900s. 


2013 - aerial view of Surrey Park

Surrey Park Football Club

Surrey Hills first played in 1888 against a number clubs across Melbourne including Riversdale, Fitzroy Rovers, North Brunswick, South Park, Marylebone, La Mascotte, South Yarra-Waverley, Kew, Camberwell, Fitzroy Imperial and South Melbourne Alberts.

In the early 1890’s a number of local clubs found it difficult to field teams and in 1893 or 1894 Mitcham, Box Hill and Surrey Hills Football Clubs merged to form Nunawading Football Club, playing in the Metropolitan Junior Football Association (MJFA) a fore-runner of the Victorian Amateur Football Association (VAFA).

Mitcham and Box Hill broke away and reformed few years later in 1896 but Surrey Hills continued to play as Nunawading purportedly until 1907. Notwithstanding this, Surrey Hills did play a team representing The Argus, a prominent Melbourne newspaper of the day, on July 23 1904 at the Surrey Hills ground, defeating Tte Argus team in a close match by three points.

Surrey Hills reformed and played in the Box Hill Reporter District Football League, winning their first premiership in 1927. In 1928 they joined the Metropolitan Amateur Football Association (MAFA) again a fore-runner of the VAFA and were narrowly defeated in the Grand Final that same year. They continued to play in the MAFA until 1933 when they joined the Eastern Suburban Football League (ESFL) delivering a premiership in 1937 and playing in the league up until at least 1954.

In 1951 Box Hill Football Club made its debut in the Victorian Football Association and in the mid to late 1950’s (certainly from 1956 – 1958) Surrey Hills and Box Hill established a relationship whereby players not selected in the Box Hill side would play for Surrey Hills in the Croydon-Ferntree Gully Football League (CFGFL) competition a fore-runner of the Eastern Football League (EFL).

After the relationship finished it is believed Surrey Hills continued in the CFGFL until around 1965.

It is believed that Surrey Hills joined the Eastern Districts Football League (EDFL) a fore-runner of the Eastern Football League (EFL) in 1965 winning the Division 2 reserve grade premiership in that year. In 1966 Surrey Hills was defeated in the Division 2 Grand Final before tasting success in 1967 winning both the senior and reserve grade Division 2 premierships. A Division 1 reserve grade premiership was delivered in 1970 before another senior Division 2 premiership in 1987 and a senior Division 4 premiership in 1992.

In 1994, the Surrey Hills FC and the East Camberwell FC amalgamated, forming the Surrey Hills Football Club, with its Headquarters at Surrey Park, just across the border from Mont Albert.


Click on any image to display a full size view!